No effect visible when "List permanently" is activated or not
Open, NormalPublic

Description


I do not understand what difference it makes if list permantly is activated or not.

Steps to reproduce:
Hover over symbol

Actual results:
the words "list permanently" appear, but no effect of activated "list permanently" is visible.

Expected results:
There is a some kind of difference in the appearance, when "list permanently" is activated or not".

Details

Ticket Type
Task

sceenshot please

EsIsl added a subscriber: EsIsl.Nov 8 2018, 9:09 PM

I am not sure i understand this ticket.

I also didn´t understand this ticket.

A.Spiesberger updated the task description. (Show Details)Nov 9 2018, 9:12 AM

Uploaded a picture, is it clearer now? Or do you guys understand what this means?

Ahhh yes, I see now. ANd I also have no idea what difference it makes. So in my opinion we can put this ticket straight to done.

bohlender moved this task from Done to 1 on the UX Seminar WS17 board.Nov 9 2018, 11:28 AM
M.Gruber updated the task description. (Show Details)Nov 9 2018, 11:29 AM
M.Gruber renamed this task from List permanently -> meaning to No effect visible when "List permanently" is activated or not .
bohlender moved this task from 1 to Done on the UX Seminar WS17 board.Nov 9 2018, 1:05 PM
bohlender moved this task from Done to 1 on the UX Seminar WS17 board.
bohlender triaged this task as Normal priority.Nov 12 2018, 9:32 AM
bohlender added a subscriber: machniak.

@machniak can we get your feedback on this?

List permanently is like removing from list (unsubscribing), but without immediate effect. So, the record will not appear again if you switch tasks (e.g. goto Mail and back to Calendar). Note that removing from list is not the same as deleting the calendar, it's just deactivating (unsubscribing).

In the old skin we had both buttons "Remove from list" and "List permanently" visible. In Elastic "Remove from list" is available via the calendars list menu only.

"List permanently" is also a way to add/move calendar entry to the list from search results, e.g. when you found other users/shared calendars and want to them always listed, in opposition to working on them only once (for a short time of current session).

Maybe it's indeed too much. Maybe we just need "Add to list" and "Remove from list".

Maybe it's indeed too much. Maybe we just need "Add to list" and "Remove from list".

Reducing options is a good idea

We could:

  • remove "subscribe/unsubscribe" for personally owned calendars
  • have an implicit "subscribe/unsubscribe" for shared calendars, where clicking the switch is "subscribe & and show" and clicking it again is "unsubscribe & hide".
  • in addition we could keep the shared calendars that the user was subscribed to under the subscribed calendars so they stay quickly accessible.

That would remove one button from the row without the loss of functionality.

@machniak would that be possible?

  • remove "subscribe/unsubscribe" for personally owned calendars

You mean always display all personal calendars no matter subscribed or not? I'm not sure this would be a good idea.

  • have an implicit "subscribe/unsubscribe" for shared calendars, where clicking the switch is "subscribe & and show" and clicking it again is "unsubscribe & hide".

Imo, using one button "subscribe/unsubscribe" instead of "List permanently", "Remove from list" and the whole "list for the current session only" functionality, makes sense to me. However, I'd like @vanmeeuwen
to look at this. And maybe @bruederli (if still available).

  • in addition we could keep the shared calendars that the user was subscribed to under the subscribed calendars so they stay quickly accessible.

Subscribed calendars shared/or not are always displayed, so I don't understand what do you mean.