Page MenuHomekolab.org

change of LDAP "mail" attribute unexpectedly creates new mailbox
Closed, WontfixPublic

Description

root@kolabbesp004a [0] proc # rpm -qv pykolab
pykolab-0.7.27-3.1.el6.kolab_14.noarch

After changing/editing a users "mail" attribute in LDAP kolabd creates a new mailbox but should do a rename.

# LDAP Modify
02.08.2016 15:51:55: User performed operation 'Update'.
  mail (old): bimbam-bgm@domain.de
  mail (new): bgm-bimbam.ups@domain.de
  uid (old): bimbam.bgm
  uid (new): bgm-bimbam.ups
# kolab lm for both mailboxes
root@kolabmupdatep001a [0] ~ # kolab lm user/bgm-bimbam.ups*@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Adressbuch@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Archives@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Aufgaben@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Configuration@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Drafts@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Junk@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Kalender@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Kalender/Privat@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Kalender/Vertraulich@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Sent@domain.de
user/bgm-bimbam.ups/Trash@domain.de

root@kolabmupdatep001a [0] ~ # kolab lm user/bimbam-bgm*@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Adressbuch@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Archives@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Aufgaben@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Configuration@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Drafts@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Junk@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Kalender@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Kalender/Privat@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Kalender/Vertraulich@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Sent@domain.de
user/bimbam-bgm/Trash@domain.de
# pykolab.log
root@kolabmupdatep001a [0] ~ # grep -e 'bgm-bimbam.ups' -e 'bimbam-bgm' /var/log/kolab/pykolab.log
2016-07-27 15:39:32,519 pykolab.imap INFO Creating new mailbox for user bimbam-bgm@domain.de
...
2016-08-02 19:57:23,197 MainThread/8085 pykolab.imap INFO Creating new mailbox for user bgm-bimbam.ups@domain.de

Details

Ticket Type
Task

Event Timeline

As far as we know until now this is the same with shared folders where the KolabTargetFolder gets edited.

petersen added projects: PyKolab, Kolab Enterprise 14, Restricted Project.Aug 4 2016, 11:06 AM
petersen added subscribers: machniak, vanmeeuwen.

Reproduced inhouse

pasik added a subscriber: pasik.Aug 29 2016, 12:27 PM
vanmeeuwen lowered the priority of this task from 60 to Normal.Mar 22 2019, 12:28 PM

Correcting the priority from 60/40 to Normal

vanmeeuwen closed this task as Wontfix.Mar 22 2019, 1:03 PM